This isn’t good-bye

So when I arrived to Medford, I spent a small amount of time reflecting on how it felt to be out of Alfred. I wrote a letter to express the way I was feeling intending to share it with you all here. 

 

Dear Alfred,

 It’s been a little over a month since I left. I just want to start off by addressing that this is not a good-bye letter.

Five years, it doesn’t feel like it was that long but I know it was. And now it’s time to move on to new things or, real life as I keep hearing people call it. I feel untethered. The thing I’ve realized Alfred, is that, there’s nowhere else on earth like you.

For the first time in my life every morning I woke up, I felt like I was exactly where I should be; doing exactly what I love and want to do. I would say it’s the first place I’ve ever truly called Home.

Alfred, you’ve allowed me to gain my “adult footing”. I am who I am because of all the people, opportunities and community that abound the little valley and it’s surrounding areas.

I know I have not lost anything by leaving but it does feel like I have found myself in uncertain territory, I’ll be honest; I’m slightly worried and scared for all the new-ness.  Can’t I just linger a little longer in the memories and long for all the familiarity?

I know I can’t, not for much longer, in less than a week I will be in completely new territory. From knowing almost every face I see on the street to, not even being able to possibly process all of the faces I see on the street because there will be far too many.

 I’d love to just sit here and write about all the good times. (Which I wrote out and it was too long to include, still, you know what I am talking about.)  Sadly it’s not going to change anything. I have to leave however, I am ready to take on these new adventures and pursue all of my goals because Alfred, I don’t want to let you or myself down.

I want to say to thank-you but I know that’s not enough. But I’ll say it anyways, thank-you for, all the support, love, the swift kicks in the butt, gossip, friendships, and time. I can’t wait to come visit. And I will as soon as I can.

 

Yours truly,

Lindsay Image

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

